photo: Rahoul Ghose/PBS


PASADENA, Calif. (AP) — Ken Burns and Trent Reznor would seem two unlikely collaborators, but both describe their recent work on the upcoming PBS documentary on the Vietnam War as among the most satisfying of their careers.

Reznor, the Nine Inch Nails singer and Academy Award-winning film score composer with partner Atticus Ross, made the score for the 10-part series that debuts this fall.

They came into the project after Burns’ production partner Lynn Novick saw the movie, “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.” Captivated by the film’s music, she stayed through the final credits to learn Reznor and Ross were responsible for it, and contacted the composers to see if they’d be interested in working on the Vietnam documentary.

A meeting was set up, and Reznor watched film footage they had gathered to tell about the war that divided Americans in the 1960s.

“For most of the clip, I’m trying not to start crying and wondering what my voice was going to sound like when the lights came up,” Reznor recalled on Sunday.

Reznor said he initially found the idea of working with Burns’ team intimidating; Novick, meanwhile, thought they’d never be able to rope in a pair of in-demand, Oscar-winning composers. But the marriage was made, and 18 months later a dropbox of music arrived in Burns’ and Novick’s email queues. She downloaded it, took a long drive and popped in the music, and had to pull over to call Burns.

“Our minds were collectively blown,” she said.

Burns said the music evoked the harshness and divisiveness of the times, yet with a strong underlying melodic sense. Rather than place the music atop already existing scenes — the way scores generally work — the documentarian said he was able to build scenes around the music itself.

“His music explores things that are very difficult to put into words and sometimes shy away from putting into words,” Novick said.

The score will work along with a full soundtrack of music from the era, Burns said. The documentary from the team behind “The Civil War” will unfold over 18 hours.

Reznor and Ross won an Oscar for their score of “The Social Network.” Within the past year, they’ve been working simultaneously on music for the movie “Patriot’s Day,” the documentary “Before the Flood” and for a new Nine Inch Nails disc, Reznor said.

Read more at AP NEWS

“The Vietnam War,” which premieres in September on PBS, will ultimately feature more than two cumulative hours of original music from Mr. Reznor and Mr. Ross, along with reworked bits from Nine Inch Nails songs and their scores for “The Social Network” and “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.” Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble also contributed music to the documentary, while era-defining hits from the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan and more will be used as well.


After years of waiting, Showtime’s highly-anticipated third season of Twin Peaks finally has a release date: Sunday, May 21st.

As previously reported, some 217 (!) actors are set to appear. Many will be reprising their original roles, including Kyle MacLachlan (FBI Agent Dale Cooper), Sherilyn Fenn (Audrey Horne), David Patrick Kelly (Jerry Horne), Richard Beymer (Ben Horne), Miguel Ferrer (FBI Agent Albert Rosenfield), Sheryl Lee (Laura Palmer), Dana Ashbrook (Bobby Briggs), Michael Horse (Deputy Hawk), Kimmy Robertson (Lucy Moran), Mädchen Amick (Shelly Johnson), Log Lady (Catherine Coulson), Denise Bryson (David Duchovny), Gordon Cole (David Lynch), Ray Wise (Leland Palmer), and Russ Tamblyn (Dr. Larence Jacoby).

A number of others will be visiting Twin Peaks for the first time, namely musicians Trent Reznor, Eddie Vedder, Sky Ferreira, Ruth Radelet, and Sharon Van Etten, as well as A-list actors like Amanda Seyfried, Ashley Judd, Laura Dern, Naomi Watts, Michael Cera, Monica Bellucci, and Tim Roth.


Nine Inch Nails to perform at Panorama NYC on July 30
Read more:


‘Not The Actual Events’ is now available everywhere:
Direct Vinyl & Digital + Physical Component // iTunes // Apple Music // Spotify // Amazon // Google Play

Late last year, Reznor declared, “New NIN coming in 2016.  Other stuff, too.”  The other stuff amounted to the scores for Nasa’s Juno short film, the climate change documentary “Before the Flood” (featuring the song “A Minute To Breathe”) and the about-to-be-released Peter Berg film “Patriots Day”.  Now just in time he makes good on the Nine Inch Nails side of things.

Not The Actual Events, the new 5 song EP will be released next Friday, 12/23 with preorders live right now.  The EP finds Reznor and now official bandmate Atticus Ross taking an unexpected left turn from 2013’s Hesitation Marks and sounding unrecognizable from their current film work.

“It’s an unfriendly, fairly impenetrable record that we needed to make” says Reznor.  “It’s an EP because that ended up being the proper length to tell that story.”

Not The Actual Events is self-released and will be available on all digital platforms 12/23.  The NIN store is offering two formats available for pre-order now:  180g 1-sided Vinyl, and a unique limited Digital + Physical Component version.

A very special limited edition of The Fragile is now available for preorder in the NIN store.  This unique version of NIN’s classic record was created by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross and features 37 instrumental, alternate and unreleased tracks, many of which have never been heard before anywhere.

Reznor explains, “The Fragile occupies a very interesting and intimate place in my heart.  I was going through a turbulent time in my life when making it and revisiting it has become a form of therapy for me.  As an experiment, I removed all the vocals from the record and found it became a truly changed experience that worked on a different yet compelling level.  The Fragile: Deviations 1 represents Atticus and I embellishing the original record with a number of tracks from those sessions we didn’t use before.  The result paints a complimentary but different picture we wanted to share.”

The Fragile: Deviations 1 will not be available on any digital services and only available in this format while this limited run lasts.

Trent Reznor and NIN art director John Crawford set out to make the “definitive editions” of all the main NIN releases on vinyl.  Reznor:  “We want to present the catalog as it was intended to be, with no compromises.  That means a careful remastering of the audio from the original sources, a careful and painstaking recreation of the artwork, pristine materials, some surprises and an insane attention to detail that you probably won’t notice… but it matters to us.  No extra bullshit and gimmicks – the “real” records in their truest form available at a reasonable price.”

The first three Definitive Editions (BrokenThe Downward Spiral and The Fragile) are available for preorder now in the NIN store (shipping spring ’17), with the rest to follow in ’17.

A year ago this week, Trent Reznor tweeted, “New NIN coming in 2016. Other stuff, too.” When reminded of this tweet now, though, he’s coy. “Those words did come out of my mouth, didn’t they?” he says bluntly. Then he feigns surprise. “Oh, yeah, it’s December, isn’t it?” He pauses. “Just wait and see what happens.”


From the climate change documentary Before The Flood.

Listen to the 34 song Westworld soundtrack including Nine Inch Nails’ “Something I Can Never Have”